Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Skateboarding News

Friday, June 25, 2010

The Dew Tour is back.

From press release
The final portion of the Dew Tour’s Skate Open will be streamed live on starting at 7:45 p.m., Saturday, June 26, from Boston’s TD Garden. Defending Skate Park world champion and three-time Dew Cup champion Ryan Sheckler will try to regain his title for 2010, going up against Paul Rodriguez, Chaz Ortiz and Ryan Decenzo, Nick Dompierre, Jake Duncombe, Greg Lutzka and Boston-native Jereme Rogers. More information follows:

Burr Ridge, Ill. – June 23, 2010 –The Dew Tour returns to Boston for the second consecutive year for the Skate Open, ISF Skateboarding World Championships, June 25 and 26 at TD Garden. Kicking off the 2010 season, Neon Trees and Paper Tongues will perform a FREE concert at City Hall Plaza on Thursday, June 24 at 8pm. The five-city tour will continue on to Chicago, Portland, Ore., Salt Lake City, and conclude with the Dew Tour Championships in Las Vegas this October.

Over 120 of the best skateboard athletes from 22 different countries will compete in Boston at the Skate Open in both vert and park. Highlighting the vert roster includes defending Dew Cup Champion and Skate Vert World Champion, Bucky Lasek, Boston-native Andy Macdonald, up-and-comer Alex Perelson, 2008 Dew Cup Champion Pierre-Luc Gagnon and vert legend Bob Burnquist.

The defending Skate Park World Champion and three-time Dew Cup Champion, Ryan Sheckler will look to repeat his World Champion status again in 2010. However, he will have to contend with the likes of Paul Rodriguez, Chaz Ortiz, Ryan Decenzo, Nick Dompierre, Jake Duncombe, Greg Lutzka and Boston-native Jereme Rogers. Fans can catch the skate park final streaming live on , Saturday, June 26 beginning at 7:45pm EST.

The defending women’s Skate Vert World Champion, Lyn-z Adams Hawkins (check out Lyn-Z interview here), will compete against young up-and-comers Allysha Bergado (check out Allysha Bergado's Interview here), age 13, and Lea Taylor, age 14, to regain her title again in 2010. Vanessa Torres will look to defend her title of women’s Skate Park World Champion.

Athletes are pre-qualified based on their rankings at the end of the 2009 Dew Tour season. Athletes who are not pre-qualified may compete as International Qualifiers at the Skate Open, ISF Skateboarding World Championships to earn a spot in the preliminary rounds. The full list of pre-qualified athletes is as follows:

Skateboard Park Men Skateboard Vert Men
Chaz Ortiz Andy Macdonald
Paul Rodriguez Bob Burnquist
Ryan Sheckler Bucky Lasek
Greg Lutzka Adam Taylor
Austen Seaholm Sandro Dias
Rodolfo Ramos Renton Millar
Carlos De Andrade Anthony Furlong
Danilo Do Rosario Alex Perelson
Fabrizio Santos Rob Lorifice
Kurtis Colamonico Pierre-Luc Gagnon
Tyler Hendley Paul-luc Ronchetti*
Milton Martinez Josh Stafford*
Dave Bachinsky
Ryan Decenzo
Timmy Kunth

Skateboard Park Women Skateboard Vert Women
Vanessa Torres Lyn-z Adams Hawkins
Abisha Alshebaiki Allysha Bergado
Lacey Baker Amelia Brodka
Amelia Brodka Elise Dabby
Leticia Bufoni Mimi Knoop
Amy Caron Gaby Ponce
Mayra Gallegos Franziska Stolz
Candy Jacobs Lea Taylor
Miho Kazama Nora Vasconcellos
Lorena Lima
Marta Nery
Elizabeth Nitu
Lauren Perkins
Rachel Reinhard
Alexis Sablone
Chihiro Uchida

*Indicates wild cards

Twenty-two countries from around the world will be represented at the Dew Tour’s Skate Open, ISF Skateboarding World Championships. The complete list of countries includes:

Australia Italy
Belgium Japan
Belize Malaysia
Brazil Mexico
Canada Netherlands
Chile Poland
Czech Republic Puerto Rico
Finland Portugal
France Switzerland
Germany Thailand
Great Britain United States

The Skate Open schedule of events is as follows:

Thursday, June 24th – Venue Opens at 7:00PM
8:00PM – 10:00PM FREE Neon Trees and Paper Tongues Concert at City Hall Plaza

Friday, June 25th – Gates Open at 3:00PM
5:30PM – 7:00PM SKB Park Prelims, Group 1 (Men)
7:30PM – 9:00PM SKB Park Prelims, Group 2 (Men)

Saturday, June 26th – Gates Open at 2:30PM
4:00PM – 4:45PM SKB Vert Final (Women)
5:00PM – 6:00PM SKB Vert Final (Men)
6:30PM – 7:15PM SKB Park Final (Women)
7:45PM – 9:30PM SKB Park Final (Men)

**Schedule is subject to change**

In addition to world-class competitions, the two-day event will also include a FREE concert by break-out bands Neon Trees and Paper Tongues– taking place at City Hall Plaza on Thursday, June 24 at 8:00pm – and an interactive Festival Village. The Festival Village will feature Mountain Dew and FUEL TV’s Green Label Experience, the Nike iD program where fans can customize their own pair of shoes, the NERF Dart Tag World Championships, free product giveaways, demos of the latest Sony and PlayStation games and electronics, and athlete autograph signings.

Tickets to the Dew Tour’s Skate Open, ISF Skateboarding World Championships are available through Ticketmaster,, and select Ticketmaster retail outlets, or by phone at (800) 745-3000.

For Saturday’s finals, Action Zone tickets cost $100 a day for adults and children and provide access to priority reserved seating for all finals contests on Saturday, in addition to official Dew Tour merchandise, a behind-the-scenes tour, athlete autograph session, merchandise discount coupon, Fast Pass access into all venues and interactive areas and cold Mountain Dew. Reserved seating tickets will be $35 for children and adults and guarantees seating for all finals competitions. Grounds Pass tickets cost $15 for adults and children.

Friday’s event tickets are on sale for $15 for all ages. The ticket will include admission to all preliminary round competitions held at TD Garden.

The complete 2010 Dew Tour schedule is as follows:
Event Date Location
Skate Open, June 25-26 Boston, Mass. – TD Garden
ISF Skateboarding World Championships
Nike 6.0 BMX Open July 23-24 Chicago, Ill. – Soldier Field South Festival Lot
Wendy’s Invitational Aug. 12-15 Portland, Ore. – Rose Quarter
Toyota Challenge Sept. 16-19 Salt Lake City, Utah – EnergySolutions Arena
Dew Tour Championships Oct. 14-17 Las Vegas, Nev. – Hard Rock Hotel & Casino

Entering its sixth year, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2010 Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at season’s end to champions in each of the five disciplines, culminating at the Dew Tour Championships at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. The 2009 Dew Cup champions include Chris Cole (skateboard park), Bucky Lasek (skate vert), Garrett Reynolds (BMX park), Jamie Bestwick (BMX vert) and Ryan Nyquist (BMX dirt).

Labels: , , ,

I skate therefore I am: skateboard pools, pipes, parks, bowls and vert, daily skateboarding news...
posted by Xavier Lannes @ Friday, June 25, 2010 


Skate Quote of the Day