Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Skateboarding News

Monday, January 23, 2012

Raven Tershy, Grant Taylor, Alex Perelson nominated for TWS best bowl riders 2011

Raven Tershay at the US Open Coastal Carnage 2010
Raven Tershy, Grant Taylor, Alex Perelson nominated for TWS best bowl riders 2011

Transworld skateboarding, the magazine in its 30th year giving you skateboarding gossips, tips, interviews and videos has announced today the nominees for the 14th Annual TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards. The winners will be announced during the premiere live event on February 16, 2012 in Hollywood, California.

Continuing in tradition, this year’s awards show will be honoring the best skaters and videos of 2011, presenting nine awards in the categories of Best Rookie,
Best Street Skater, Best Transition Skater, Best Team, Best Video, Best Video Part, New Era Readers’ Choice, TWS Legend Award and the Eric Stricker Memorial Award. The winners will be handpicked by TransWorld SKATEbaording‘s editorial staff, with its readers voting for the New Era Readers’ Choice Award.

This year marks again a recognition of bowl riding has a major component of modern skateboarding with the nomination of Best Transition skaters Raven Tershy, Grant Taylor and Alex Perelson. But, as a major blow to the skaters that take the time to go to the major bowl and vert contests worldwide across the year, TWS elected to chose 3 skaters that are not even in the top 15 of the World Cup Skateboarding in bowl (although Alex Perelson is ranked #6 - in vert). Where are Pedro Barros, Kevin Kowlaski, Nolan Munroe, Josh Mattson? This is not to say that Raven Tershy, Grant Taylor, and Alex Perelson do not have an remarkable level or are not recognized outside the WCS (Grant Taylor is SOTY 2011) but one is wondering on what ground was the decision made? This is something that TWS will definitively have to explain the day of the awards... The previous years, the best transition award went to Dan Drehobl (2008), Peter Hewitt (2009), Grant taylor (2010) and Taylor Bingaman (2011)…

Directly following the awards, TransWorld SKATEboarding will premiere its 24th video, The Cinematographer Project, a film produced by John Holland, featuring 15 of the world’s best skateboarding cinematographers, including TransWorld’s
Stone Age Clip of the Week: Alex Perelson
up-and-coming pick. For those of you who can’t attend this invite-only event, stay tuned for info on the 30 local premieres we’ll be doing around the country.

The official nominees for this year’s TWS awards are:
Tom Asta, Ishod Wair, Wes Kremer

Nyjah Huston (Rise & Shine), Grant Taylor (SB Chronicles Vol. 1), Dennis Busenitz (Since Day One)
Pedro Barros, 2011 results: #3 Florida Bowlriders #2, #2 Florida Bowlriders #1, #1 Protec Pool Party, #1 Bowl-A-Rama
 Bondi, #1 Bowl-A-Rama New Zealand, #1 overall WCS bowl winner... Why isn't Pedro Barros nominated by TWS?
The Sk8mafia Video, Since Day One, SB Chronicles Vol. 1

Real, Sk8mafia, Expedition

Brandon Westgate, Dennis Busenitz, Nyjah Huston

Raven Tershy, Grant Taylor, Alex Perelson

The New Era Readers’ Choice nominees, TWS Legend, and Eric Stricker Memorial Awards recipients will be announced at a later date.

Labels: , , , ,

I skate therefore I am: skateboard pools, pipes, parks, bowls and vert, daily skateboarding news...
posted by Xavier Lannes @ Monday, January 23, 2012 


Skate Quote of the Day