Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Skateboarding News

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Skater of the Year 2012: David Gonzalez

Thrasher Magazine announced that professional skateboarder David Gonzalez won their coveted 2012 Skater of the Year award on Tuesday December 4th, 2012. He is the 22nd professional skateboarder to be named Skater of the Year (SOTY) by Thrasher.

Skater of the Year 2012: David Gonzalez

David Gonzalez is a native from Medellin, Colombia and has been living in the states for a while now.

As part of the Flip Skateboard team, Gonzalez put on a serious show this year to woo Thrasher editor Jake Phelps' vote with a barrage of gnarly video parts -- including Possesed to Skate -- and tons of photos that ran in the magazine throughout the year. Huge rails, horrible slams and super-fast skating made Gonzalez edge out other notables such as Justin Figueroa, Guy Mariano, Cory Kennedy, Marc Johnson, Austyn Gillette and Nyjah Huston.

Originally, the SOTY award was handed out by SkateBoarder magazine in 1977, with Tony Alva taking the first honors. As Skateboarder waned in popularity through skateboarding's lean years, and skateboarding evolving from pools and vert into flat and street skating, SkateBoarder disappeared.

It was Thrasher who picked up the mantle in 1990 and Tony Hawk was awarded the new SOTY title. Throughout the past two decades Thrasher has awarded the coveted trophy to some of the most legendary skateboarders in the sport, including Mike Carroll, John Cardiel, Brian Anderson and Mark Appleyard.

Grant Taylor was the previous Skater of the Year in 2011.

David Gonzalez

Labels: , ,

I skate therefore I am: skateboard pools, pipes, parks, bowls and vert, daily skateboarding news...
posted by Xavier Lannes @ Wednesday, December 05, 2012 


Skate Quote of the Day